NJ Minimum Wage Increase Notice Must Be Posted
- On February 23, 2017
As of January 1, 2017 the New Jersey minimum wage rate was increased from $8.38 per hour to $8.44 per hour, as announced by the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (“NJDOL”). This adjustment was based upon an increase in the Consumer Price Index for urban wage earners and clerical workers. It is important to note, that along with said change, NJDOL has updated its employer New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law Abstract poster. The required poster must be displayed by employers and can be found here on the NJDOL website.
As we are well underway in the New Year, employers must make sure that they are current and compliant with their required notice and posting requirements, such as those on Gender Equity and the New Jersey Conscientious Employee Protection Act. Please see the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development official website for complete copies of the Employer Poster Packet.
Author: Nicole Sorokolit Croddick, Esq.